Education

“It is in the minds of men that the defences of peace must be constructed” is written in the UNESCO Constitution. The organisation’s mandate in education remains at the top of its priorities, as demonstrated by its role as leader within the United Nations system for achievement of goal 4 of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. This goal aims to ensure inclusive, fair and quality education and to promote lifelong learning for all.

The Associated Schools Project Network (ASPnet)

The UNESCO Associated Schools Project Network is the largest network of schools in the world. Since 1953 it has connected schools across the world around a common goal: to build peace in the minds of children and teenagers.

More than 10,000 schools in no less than 180 countries work together on quality education for better international cooperation and to strengthen tolerance and solidarity. The ASP network is led internationally from Paris.

The ASPnet coordination group supports the Flemish network of associated schools for the Flemish Commission for UNESCO. Flanders has thirteen schools within the network. Here is a table listing all these schools:

Primary teaching

  • GO! Basisschool Pee & Nel Leuven
  • GO! Basisschool Unescoschool Koekelberg
  • GO! Basisschool van het Atheneum Keerbergen
  • GO! Unescoschool Sterrenbos
  • Vrije Basisschool - Lucernacollege Brussel

Secondary teaching

  • Atheneum Brussel
  • Atheneum GO! for Business
  • Atheneum Jan Fevijn
  • Bernarduscollege Oudenaarde
  • GO! Atheneum Keerbergen
  • GO! Atheneum Unescoschool Koekelberg
  • GO! Atheneum Willebroek
  • GO! Busleyden Atheneum, Caputsteen Campus
  • GO! Busleyden Atheneum, Pitzemburg Campus
  • GO! Koninklijk Lyceum Antwerpen
  • GO! Middenschool Keerbergen
  • GO! Technisch Atheneum Keerbergen
  • Lucernacollege Brussel
  • Rozenberg S.O.

Teacher training

  • Hogeschool UCLL, Groep Lerarenopleiding

Does your school want to help build peace in children’s and teenagers’ minds? Does your school see diversity as a strength? Does it want to be involved in achieving Sustainable Development Goals (SDG 4: education for sustainable development and global citizenship)? Does your school want to take part in cooperating on a global scale with other schools, teachers and pupils? If so, then maybe your school could meet the criteria to become a UNESCO school! Get in contact with the Flemish ASPnet coordination group for more information! You can also see the partnership agreement signed by network member schools!

All fields are required

Chairs

Launched in 1992, the UNITWIN / UNESCO Chairs programme promotes international cooperation and university networking to strengthen institutions’ capabilities through knowledge sharing in the organisation’s main fields of expertise (education, natural and social sciences, culture and communication).

In many cases, the Networks and Chairs act as discussion groups and build bridges between the university, civil society, local communities, scientific research and political leaders. University research centres with the UNESCO Chair label have widespread recognition at international level and are involved in very specific themes of interest to UNESCO.

Today, the programme includes more than 700 institutions in 116 countries. Seven UNESCO Chairs have been founded in Belgium.

UNESCO Chair in Building Sustainable Peace

  • Host institution: Catholic University of Leuven
  • Chairholder: Prof. Dr. Arnim LangerUNESCO Chair on Eremology (study of deserts and desertification processes)
  • Host institution: Ghent University
  • Chairholder: Em. Prof. Dr. Ir. Donald GabrielsUNESCO Chair in Preventive Conservation, Monitoring and Maintenance of Monuments and Sites
  • Host institution: Catholic University of Leuven
  • Chairholder: Prof. Dr. Ir. Koenraad Van BalenUNESCO-UNU Chair in Regional Integration, Migration and the Free Movement of People
  • Host institution: United Nations University. Centre for Regional Integration Studies.
  • Chairholder: Prof. Dr. FioramontiUNESCO Chair in Right to Education
  • Host institution: College of Europe, Brugge
  • Chairholder: Prof. Dr. Jan de GroofUNESCO Chair on Critical Heritage Studies and Safeguarding the Intangible Cultural Heritage
  • Host institution: Vrije Universiteit Brussel
  • Chairholder: Prof. Dr. Marc JacobsFrench-Speaking UNESCO Chair in Linguistics and Didactics of languages in educational systems
  • Host institution: University of Mons-Hainaut
  • Chairholder: Prof. Dr. Raymond Renard

Éducation

« C’est dans l’esprit des hommes que doivent être élevées les défenses de la paix » est inscrit dans l’Acte constitutif de l’UNESCO. Le mandat de l’Organisation dans le domaine de l’éducation demeure au premier rang de ses priorités comme en témoigne son rôle de chef de file au sein du système des Nations unies pour la réalisation de l’objectif 4 du Programme de développement durable à l’horizon 2030. Cet objectif prévoit d’assurer une éducation inclusive et équitable de qualité et de promouvoir l'apprentissage tout au long de la vie pour tous.

Le réseau du Système des Ecoles Associées (réSEAU)

Le Réseau du Système des Ecoles Associées de l’UNESCO est le plus grand réseau d’écoles au monde. Il met en lien depuis 1953 des écoles du monde entier autour d’un objectif commun : bâtir la paix dans l’esprit des enfants et des adolescents.

Plus de 10.000 écoles dans pas moins de 180 pays travaillent ensemble à une éducation de qualité pour une meilleure coopération internationale et pour renforcer la tolérance et la solidarité. Le réseau SEA est dirigé au niveau international depuis Paris.

Le groupe de coordination SEAnet soutient le réseau flamand des écoles associées pour la Commission flamande pour l’UNESCO. La Flandre compte treize écoles au sein du réseau. Voici un tableau recensant l’ensemble de ces écoles :

Enseignement primaire

  • GO! Basisschool Pee & Nel Leuven
  • GO! Basisschool Unescoschool Koekelberg
  • GO! Basisschool van het Atheneum Keerbergen
  • GO! Unescoschool Sterrenbos
  • Vrije Basisschool - Lucernacollege Brussel

Enseignement secondaire

  • Atheneum Brussel
  • Atheneum GO! for Business
  • Atheneum Jan Fevijn
  • Bernarduscollege Oudenaarde
  • GO! Atheneum Keerbergen
  • GO! Atheneum Unescoschool Koekelberg
  • GO! Atheneum Willebroek
  • GO! Busleyden Atheneum, Campus Caputsteen
  • GO! Busleyden Atheneum, Campus Pitzemburg
  • GO! Koninklijk Lyceum Antwerpen
  • GO! Middenschool Keerbergen
  • GO! Technisch Atheneum Keerbergen
  • Lucernacollege Brussel
  • Rozenberg S.O.

Formation des enseignants

  • Hogeschool UCLL, Groep Lerarenopleiding

Votre école souhaite-elle participer à la construction de la paix dans l’esprit des enfants et des adolescents ? Votre école conçoit-elle la diversité comme une force ? Souhaite-elle s’engager pour la réalisation des Objectifs de Développement Durable (ODD 4 : l’éducation pour le développement durable et la citoyenneté mondiale) ? Votre école souhaite-elle participer à une coopération à l’échelle mondiale avec d’autres écoles, professeurs et écoliers ? SI c’est le cas, alors peut-être que votre école pourrait satisfaire aux critères pour devenir une école UNESCO ! Prenez contact avec le groupe de coordination ASPnet flamand pour plus d’informations ! Vous pouvez également consulter le partenariat signé par les écoles membres du réseau !

Tous les champs sont obligatoires

Chaires

Lancé en 1992, le programme UNITWIN / Chaires UNESCO promeut la coopération internationale et la mise en réseau des universités afin de renforcer les capacités des établissements grâce au partage des connaissances dans les principaux domaines de compétence de l’Organisation (l’éducation, les sciences naturelles et sociales, la culture et la communication).

Dans de nombreux cas, les Réseaux et les Chaires agissent en tant que groupes de réflexion et bâtisseurs de passerelles entre l’université, la société civile, les communautés locales, la recherche scientifique et les responsables politiques. Les centres universitaires de recherche détenteurs du label Chaire UNESCO ont une grande notoriété au niveau international et s'attachent à des thèmes bien précis qui intéressent l'UNESCO.

Aujourd’hui, le Programme rassemble plus de 700 établissements de 116 pays. Sept Chaires UNESCO ont été fondées en Belgique.

Chaire UNESCO pour la construction d'une paix durable

  • Institution hôte : KU Leuven
  • Responsable de la Chaire : Prof. Dr. ArnimLanger

Chaire UNESCO en érémologie (étude des déserts et des processus de désertification)

  • Institution hôte : Université Gent
  • Responsable de la Chaire : Em. Prof. Dr. Ir. Donald Gabriels

Chaire UNESCO en conservation préventive, surveillance et entretien des monuments et des sites

  • Institution hôte : KU Leuven
  • Responsable de la Chaire : Prof. Dr. Ir. Koen Van Balen

Chaire UNESCO-UNU sur la migration, le libre-échange et l'intégration régionale

  • Institution hôte : United Nations University. Centre for Regional Integration Studies.
  • Responsable de la Chaire : Prof. Dr. Fioramonti

Chaire UNESCO en droit à l'éducation

  • Institution hôte : Collège de l’Europe, Brugge
  • Responsable de la Chaire : Prof. Dr. Jan de Groof

Chaire UNESCO en études critiques sur le patrimoine culturel et la sauvegarde du patrimoine culturel immatériel

  • Institution hôte : Vrije Universiteit Brussel
  • Responsable de la Chaire : Prof. Dr. Marc Jacobs

Chaire UNESCO francophone en aménagement linguistique et didactique des langues dans les systèmes éducatifs

  • Institution hôte : Université de Mons-Hainaut
  • Responsable de la Chaire : Prof. Dr. Raymond Renard

Publications